About the Team

TEAM JENNY is sorry to report that we have now lost 3 race recipients. 

On April 15th, 2012 Abby Johnson, our inaugural recipient, passed away after her 5 year battle with pediatric brain cancer, a disease she fought to the last day. 

On Jan 5th, 2016 we lost another very special Team Jenny recipient. Not only was he the 4th annual recipient, but an active volunteer for 7 of our races. Brandan Biggert, also battling cancer until the very end, always had a smile of his face, and was willing to help out in any way he could.  

On July 21, 2021 Skylar Burroughs  passed away at his home surrounded by his loving family, almost 5 years after the accident.

We continue to keep Abby, Brandan, Skylar and their families in our thoughts and prayers, and ask that everyone else do the same.

TEAM JENNY itself came about from one of the many friends that showed incredible support during Jenny's struggle. Betsy Bowers, one of Jenny's college roommates, in an attempt to raise money for the medical hardships Jenny and her family were soon going to be facing, decided to make and sell T-Shirts. The inaugural colors were pink and green. All of the T-Shirts said, in bold block letters, "TEAM JENNY", except for one. That one exception was Jenny's shirt, which she proudly wears. It reads, "I am JENNY and this is my TEAM". Each year the TEAM JENNY shirts given out at the 5K race have changed color. So if you see anyone with a pink or green TEAM JENNY shirt, they are a member of the original TEAM JENNY cast and have been there since the beginning.

Abby Johnson 2009

Drake Current 2010

Emily Rader 2011

Brandan Biggert 2012

Lindsay Hahn 2013

Janell Raby 2014

Garret Chester 2015

Tristan Palija 2016

Skylar Burroughs 2017

Jack Whitacker 2018

Sydney Thomas 2019

Breah Connor 2021

Ava Hall 2022

Ryker Freeze 2023

Kaleb Hackenburg 2024